

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: TraceyPennell@nlh.nl.ca

2017-07-19

Ms. Tracey Pennell Senior Counsel Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Ms. Pennell:

Re: Investigation and Hearing into Supply Issues and Power Outages on the Island Interconnected System - Requested Information from Hydro

This is in response to Hydro's July 5, 2017 letter providing an update to the Board's May 3, 2017 letter requesting specific information to be provided and the timing of availability of this information. The Board is reviewing Hydro's response but at this time wishes to address Hydro's response to the following items:

Item #6: Update on studies for HVdc converter station contractors' studies and copies of any completed study

- Item #16: Updated energy supply risk assessment post Muskrat Falls
- Item #22: Update on multi-year reliability compliance program and Provincial Reliability Framework
- Item #23: Status of plan for compliance with NERC

Hydro's response to the Board's request for these information items includes the following statement:

The nature of the information provided may be subject to any response by Hydro to this recommendation and the Board's final determination on (i) Liberty's recommendations and (ii) the parties' submissions.

The Board requests that Hydro provide clarification of this statement in relation to each of the information items, and specifically how the nature of the information item to be provided would be impacted.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jglynn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

ILdo

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

CB/cj

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro ecc

Mr. Geoff Young, Email: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca Newfoundland Power Inc. Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com Mr. Ian Kelly, Q.C., E-mail: ikelly@curtisdawe.com NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com Consumer Advocate Mr. Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com Mr. Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com

- Ms. Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com
- Ms. Bernice Bailey, E-mail: bbailey@bfma-law.com

Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca

- Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Grand Riverkeeper Labrador, Inc. Ms. Roberta Frampton Benefiel, E-Mail: rebnfl@gmail.com

Mr. Philip Raphals, E-mail: Philip@centrehelios.org Ms. Prunelle Thibeau-Bedard, E-mail: prunelletb@gmail.com

Mr. Danny Dumaresque

Mr. Danny Dumaresque, E-mail: danny.liberal@gmail.com